National Events

28 July Wednesday - 7pm - Central England Quaker Peace Committee: "70 years of the UN Refugee Convention - the UK's dereliction of duty"
                                                 Contact Barbara by email if you are interested in attending this Zoom meeting: - forbesbarbarae@yahoo.co.uk

30 Jul    Friday        International Day of Friendship

30 Jul    Friday        World Day against Trafficking in Persons

Friday 6 and Monday 9 August, 75th anniversary of the first uses of nuclear weapons in warfare.

6-9 Aug  Fri-Mon  International Fast for Nuclear Disarmament  www.networkforpeace.org.uk/calendar

9 Aug    Monday        International Day of the World's Indigenous People

9 Aug  Monday  Anniversary of the execution of Franz Jägerstätter. Mark the anniversary of the execution of this Austrian Catholic conscientious objector at 6.30pm. 
                              More info from Pax Christi 

9 Aug  Monday   Annual Peace Walk in London from Westminster Cathedral (TBC) to the London Peace Pagoda, followed by a Lantern-Lighting ceremony at sunset. 020 7228 9620.

12 Aug    Thursday        International Youth Day

14 Aug   Sarurday 12 noon   Mass in St George's Cathedral to celebrate the 104th birthday of Archbishop Saint Oscar Romero. Principal celebrant - Bishop Nicholas Hudson
                                 (Auxiliary in Westminster). All are welcome!

19 Aug    Thursday        World Humanitarian Day

23 Aug    Monday        International Day for the Remembrance of the Slave Trade and its Abolition

29 Aug    Sunday        International Day against Nuclear Tests

30 Aug  Monday  UN International Day of the Victims of Enforced Disappearances

1 Sep    Wednesday   Day of Prayer for Creation; start of "Creation Time", which runs to  Sunday 3 October - https://seasonofcreation.com/

5 Sep  Sunday        UN International Day of Charity

5 Sept  Climate Sunday  www.climatesunday.org/
                Climate Sunday Catholic Mass template - https://cafod.org.uk/Pray/Prayer-resources/Climate-Sunday-Mass

5-12 Sept Root & Branch inclusive Synod at Bristol  www.rootandbranchsynod.org

8 September   Wednesday   UN International Literacy Day

13-15 Sept   Mon-Wd  "Communication for Social Justice in a Digital Age  www.oikoumene.org/events

14-17 Sept The Arms Fair is scheduled for DSEI again this year at DSEI.

Wednesday 15 September, UN International Day of Democracy

15-22 Sept   Wed- Wed   World Week of Peace in Palestine & Israel    www.oikoumene.org/events

Thursday 16 September, UN International Day for the Preservation of the Ozone Layer

18-26 Sept  Sat-Sun  The Climate Coalition Big Green Week. ANational Week of thousands of events celebrating how communities and groups are taking action to tackle climate change and protect green spaces, and encourage others to get involved too. Everyone is invited
- https://greatbiggreenweek.com/

21 Sep - 2 Oct Catholic Nonviolence Days of Action  https://nonviolencejustpeace.net/ 
  
Monday 21 September, UN International Day of Peace.

Thursday 23 September, UN World Maritime Day  

Sunday 26 September, UN International Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons

Monday 27 September, UN World Tourism Day

Friday 1 October, International Day of Older Persons

Saturday 2 October, International Day of Non-Violence; Ghandi's birthday.

2 October Saturday 11am - Christian CND AGM

Monday 5 October, UN World Teachers’ Day

Monday 4 October, UN World Habitat Day

Sunday 10 October, Day of Prayer for Prisoners and their Dependants

10-17  Oct   Sun-Sun     Inter-Faith Week of Prayer for World Peace 

Monday 11 October, UN International Day of the Girl Child   

11-17 Oct  Mon-Sun  Challenge Poverty Week England and Wales, organised by Church Action on Poverty.

Wednesday 13 October, UN International Day for Disaster Risk Reduction

Friday 15 October, UN International Day of Rural Women

Friday 15 October  25th anniversary of the publication of "The Common Good and the Catholic Church's Social Teaching" by the Bishops of England and Wales.

Saturday 16 October, UN World Food Day

Sunday 17 October, International Day for the Eradication of Poverty

Sunday 24 October, UN United Nations Day

Sunday 24 October, UN World Development Information Day

Wednesday 1 to Friday 12 November, COP 26 UN Climate Summit in Glasgow

Saturday 6 November, UN International Day for Preventing the Exploitation of the Environment in War and Armed Conflict

Wednesday 10 November, UN World Science Day for Peace and Development

Thursday 11 November, Remembrance Day
 
Sunday 14 November, Remembrance Sunday 

Tuesday 16 November, UN International Day for Tolerance

Friday 19 November, UN World Toilet Day

Saturday 20 November, UN Unniversal Children's Day

Thurssday 25 November, UN International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women

Monday 29 November, UN International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People
 
Sunday 12 September, UN United Nations Day for South-South Cooperation 
 
Wednesday 1 December, UN Day of Remembrance for all Victims of Chemical Warfare

Wednesday 1 December, UN World AIDS Day

Thursday 2 December, UN International Day for the Abolition of Slavery

Friday 3 December, UN International Day of Persons with Disabilities

Friday 3 December,  Day of Prayer for Migrants.

Sunday 5 December, UN International Volunteer Day for Economic and Social Development

Sunday 5 December, UN World Soil Day

Thursday 9 December, UN International Day of Commemoration and Dignity of the Victims of the Crime of Genocide and of the Prevention of this Crime

Thursday 9 December, UN International Anti-Corruption Day

Friday 10 December, UN Human Rights Day

Saturday 18 December 2020, UN International Migrants Day

Monday 20 December 2020, UN International Human Solidarity Day 

Scroll to Top